I experienced one of those not so subtle miracles this morning. I was having my morning coffee and musing about how specific people in my work life have difficulties being honest with me. The verse that says “…let your ‘yes’ be yes and your ‘no’ be no…” occurred to me apropos. I had always thought this verse was more about not swearing or not trying to add too much emphasis to one’s answers (allowing your answer to stand alone thus adding validity to the statement). It came to me when I was considering times when I thought someone was giving too elaborate an explanation (not the truth) for something. It seems, perhaps, that when you deliver news to someone, you shouldn’t add untruth to soften the statement or in order to get more of what you want out of the situation.

Although I was thinking about situations where this was done to me, I’m sure I am considerably guilty myself. I will try to be on the lookout for this in the future.

The miracle occurred when a few minutes later I opened my second of two daily email verses. That’s right, and I could not have quoted the entire verse or even the chapter to save my life. But there it was right in front of me with no possibility whatsoever of even the tiniest of subliminal rendering. James 5:12 Above all, my brothers, do not swear – not by heaven or by earth or by anything else. Let your ‘yes’ be yes and your ‘no’ be no, or you will be condemned.

Just another of those little yet not so subtle miracles when God says I’m still here, I knew you needed a little more today.

Maybe it wasn’t so minor after all.

